

Crop Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Thursday, June 28, 2023 2:15-3:30pm (Central)

CSSA President Seth Murray called the meeting to order.

Board members present:

President: Seth Murray, Texas A&M (2023)

Past President: Marilyn Warburton, USDA-ARS (2023)

President-Elect: Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS (2023)

C-1: Melanie Bayles, Oklahoma State Univ. (2025) C-3: Ignacio Ciampitti, Kansas State Univ. (2024)

C-6: John Guretzky, Univ. of Nebraska (2024)

Industry Rep.: Leah Brilman, DLF Pickseed (2025)

DEI Member-at-Large: Geoffrey Koch, UC-Davis (2023)

Grad Student Rep.: Karl Kunze, Cornell (2023)

<u>Ex-officio</u>: CEO Jim Cudahy; Editor-in-Chief: Bingru Huang, Rutgers (2024); Incoming President-Elect Mark Sorrells,

Cornell (2023); Program Planning Officer Nithya Rajan,

Texas A&M (2023); B&F Chair: Steve Malone, USDA-AMS-S&T-SRTD (2025)

Unable to attend:

C-2: Felix Fritschi, Univ. of Missouri (2023)

C-4: Nicole Anderson, Oregon State Univ. (2025)

C-5: Cale Bigelow, Purdue (2023)

C-7: Jianming Yu, Iowa State Univ. (2024)

C-8: Dipak Santra, Univ. of Nebraska (2025)

C-9: Mary Guttieri, USDA-ARS (2025)

ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023)

Also participating:

Ann Edahl, Managing Editor

Chris Boomsma, Education Director

Wes Meixelsperger, CFO & Meetings Director

Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer

Sara Uttech, Governance Director

Matt Wascavage, Membership Director

Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

C003 CSSA Board of Directors

- 1. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - June 28, 2023 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - May 30, 2023 CSSA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
 - ACS321 Committee recommendation to adopt Artificial Intelligence Generated Content Policy for the journals.
- 2. The approval of the Ethics Task Force recommendation to adopt Ethics Committee Guidelines was tabled until it can be clarified if the ASF Board should be included.
- 3. In preparation for the ASA-CSSA-SSSA-ASF Strategic Planning July 26-27, 2023 in Madison and Virtual, Governance Director Sara Uttech reviewed the following:
 - Tuesday July 25 In-Person: Arrive by 4:00pm Central to Best Western Premier Park hotel in time for 5:00pm dinner at UW-Madison Memorial Union Terrace
 - Wednesday July 26 In-Person at Fluno Center & Remote
 - Thursday July 27 In-Person at Fluno Center & Remote until 3pm Central, depart after or 7/28
 - CSSA reimburses travel expenses with receipts (no per diems) per the Travel Policy and itemizing on the Travel Expense Report attached to the Calendar invite and submit with receipts to Sara Uttech
- 4. CEO Jim Cudahy led the board through Strategic Planning exercises, including asking the board, "What Is Our Hedgehog?" and "What factors/dynamics must we change to allow for relentless pursuit of Our Hedgehog?" These exercises reinforced the board's reading material, Good to Great and the Social Sectors by Jim Collins:
 - As a Society, what are we—as Boards, as members, as certified professionals—most passionate about?
 - What drives our economic engine? (what will our members and stakeholders pay for us to do?)
 - At what can we be better than anyone else in the world?
- 5. Updates: Task Forces & Committees
 - Engineers without Borders: CAO Luther Smith
 - Curriculum/Education Certification: Past President Marilyn Warburton/CAO Luther Smith

- Leadership Pathways: President Seth Murray
- Organization, Policy & Bylaws Committee: Governance Director Sara Uttech
- Workforce Development Task Force: CEO Jim Cudahy

C302 CSSA Crop Science Editorial Board

ACTION: Motion by Seth Murray, seconded by Leah Brilman, to approve Glen Ritchie as 2024-2026 Editor, *Crop Science* as recommended by Editor-in-Chief Bingru Huang. Unanimous approval.

ACS321 ASA-CSSA-SSSA Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Publications Director Matt Wascavage reviewed the next steps for post-2024 publishing.

C441 CSSA Fellows Committee

President Seth Murray announced that the Exec Committee ratified the 2023 CSSA Awards and Fellows that was distributed. Board members are asked to keep the list confidential until the recipients and non-recipients have been notified. Board members are also asked to encourage future award nominations, especially for women and those in other underrepresented groups.

Consensus to Adjourn.