

# Crop Science Society of America Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Thursday, Jan. 26, 2023 2:00-3:00pm (Central)

CSSA President Seth Murray called the meeting to order. Board members present:

President: Seth Murray, Texas A&M (2023) Past President: Marilyn Warburton, USDA-ARS (2023) C-1: Melanie Bayles, Oklahoma State Univ. (2025) C-2: Felix Fritschi, Univ. of Missouri (2023) C-3: Ignacio Ciampitti, Kansas State Univ. (2024) C-4: Nicole Anderson, Oregon State Univ. (2025) C-6: John Guretzky, Univ. of Nebraska (2024) C-7: Jianming Yu, Iowa State Univ. (2024) C-9: Mary Guttieri, USDA-ARS (2025) Industry Rep.: Leah Brilman, DLF Pickseed (2025) Grad Student Rep.: Karl Kunze, Cornell (2023) <u>Ex-officio</u>: CEO: Jim Cudahy <u>Unable to attend</u>: President-Elect: Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS (2023) C-5: Cale Bigelow, Purdue (2023) C-8: Dipak Santra, Univ. of Nebraska (2025) DEI Member-at-Large: Geoffrey Koch, UC-Davis (2023) B&F Chair: Stephen Malone, USDA-AMS-S&T-SRTD (2025) Editor-in-Chief: Bingru Huang, Rutgers (2024) Program Planning Officer Nithya Rajan, Texas A&M (2023) ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023) Also participating: Chris Boomsma, Education Director Wes Meixelsperger, CFO & Meetings Director Ian Popkewitz, IT & Operations Director Luther Smith, Prof. Dev. & Business Relations Director Sara Uttech, Governance Director Susan Varghese, People & Culture Director

# C003 CSSA Board of Directors

- The meeting opened 15 minutes early for an optional discussion on the article, "<u>How well-intentioned white male physicists maintain ignorance of inequity and justify inaction</u>," led by President Seth Murray.
- 2. President Seth Murray offered a special welcome to new CSSA Board members:
  - CSSA President-Elect Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS Pullman, WA
  - Division C-1 Crop Breeding and Genetics Board Rep. Melanie Bayles, Oklahoma State University
  - Division C-4 Seed Physiology, Production, & Technology Board Rep. Nicole Anderson, Oregon State Univ.
  - Division C-8 Plant Genetic Resources Board Rep. Dipak Santra, Univ. of Nebraska
  - Division C-9 Crops for Nutrition and Health Board Rep. Mary Guttieri, USDA-ARS
  - Budget & Finance Board Rep. Stephen Malone, USDA-AMS-S&T-SRTD
- 3. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda Items were approved:
  - Jan. 26, 2023 CSSA Board Meeting Agenda
  - Dec. 21, 2022 CSSA Board Meeting Minutes
- 4. 2023 Board-Level Committees and Task Force were reviewed and volunteers from the board came forward, including:
  - C201 Organization, Policy, and Bylaws Committee: Melanie Bayles and Dipak Santra
  - C211 Budget and Finance Committee: Nicole Anderson
  - C537 Science Policy Committee: Mary Gutteri and Geoff Koch
  - Task Forces
    - ACS Workforce Development Task Force: Luther Smith, Jim Cudahy, Susan Varghese, Donn Cummings
    - ACS Leadership Pathways Task Force: Seth Murray, Sara Uttech, Melanie Bayles, Jianming Yu
    - CSSA Curriculum and Content Certification Task Force: Chris Boomsma, Marilyn Warburton, Leah Brilman
    - ACS Elevating our Awards Task Force: Mark Sorrells, Rachel Owen, Jim Cudahy, Felix Fritschi
    - ACS Ethics Task Force: Mary Guttieri
- 5. Board Members are asked to please encourage Award nominations by March 9, 2023 via Discussion Boards, including self-nominations for awards except Fellow: <u>www.crops.org/awards</u> CSSA Board Members can only participate in ASA and SSSA Awards.
- 6. CEO Jim Cudahy reported that Department Directors held a retreat on Jan. 24 in preparation for Strategic Planning and announced that Luther Smith was promoted to Chief Administrative Officer.

## C011.06 Division C-6 Forage and Grazinglands

ACTION: Motion by Leah Brilman, seconded by Melanie Bayles, to support up to \$10,000 sponsorship of <u>International</u> <u>Grasslands Congress</u>, May 14-19 in Kentucky. Unanimous approval. Plans for CSSA to exhibit to promote Membership, Annual Meeting, Publications, Certification, Decode 6.

## ACS598 Carbon and Ecosystem Services Education Project Advisory Committee

Education Director Chris Boomsma provided an update on the Decode 6 Platform <u>www.decode6.org</u>, including partnerships, funding, and communication. Board members are encouraged to visit the website and sign up for the newsletter.

#### C101 Nominations Committee

Governance Director Sara Uttech shared the listing of the 2023 CSSA Election candidates and announced that the elections will be held March 6-April 6, 2023.

## ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

Publications Director Matt Wascavage posted the January 2023 Publications Update, including Peer Review Mentorship, New Wiley Transformational Agreements, and Wiley's Research Exchange Tool.

#### ACS732 Program Planning Committee

Apply by March 30, 2023 to serve as the DEI (Diversity, Equity, Inclusion) Representative on ACS732 Program Planning Committee.

Consensus to Adjourn.