MINUTES OF C01 BUSINESS MEETING 24 OCT 2012

Attendance:

Jodi Scheffler, USDA-ARS

Mitch Tuinstra, Purdue University

Rich Pratt, New Mexico State

Ann Marie Thro, USDA-ARS

Pat Byrne, Colorado State University

Kim Garland-Campbell, USDA-ARS

Charlie Brummer, Nobel Foundation

Marilyn Warburton, USDA-ARS

Michael Grusak, USDA-ARS

Vasu Kuraparthy, North Carolina State University

Raymie Porter, University of Minnesota

Kellan Kershner, Ag Alumni Seed

Tara Burke, University of Kentucky

Dave Dierig, USDA-ARS-NCGRP

Prakash Arelli, USDA-ARS

C. Cole Hendrix, University of Illinois

Rodrigo dos Santos, South Dakota State University

Randy Dinkins, USDA-ARS

Michael Casler, USDA-ARS

David Price, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jeffrey Endelmen, USDA-ARS

Gavin Humphreys, AAFC-CRC Winnipeg, Canada

Joe Anderson, Purdue University

Mike Strauss, USDA-ARS

Paul Riddle, North Carolina State University

Randall Nelson, USDA-ARS

Jianli Chen, USDA-ARS

Jim Coors, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Kendall Lamkey, Iowa State University

Georgia Eizenga, USDA-ARS

MINUTES

The C01 business meeting was called to order at 11AM by Jodi Scheffler, USDA-ARS, Chairelect. The meeting was held in the Duke Energy Conference Center – Room 204 in conjunction with the ASA-CSSA-SSSA Annual Meeting in Cincinnati, OH. A group of approximately 30 persons was in attendance.

The minutes from the 2011 business meeting were reviewed. Charlie Brummer noted and suggested a change in spelling from "Deth Naeve" to "Seth Naeve". Charlie Brummer then

moved to accept the minutes and the motion was seconded by Georgia Eizenga. The members in attendance voted to approve the minutes.

Mark Brick, President-elect CSSA, reported on relevant items from the C01/C07/C08 Divisions. Ideas for papers and symposia for the 2013 Annual Meetings were solicited from the members. Members were encouraged to nominate students to participate in the Graduate Student Congressional Visits Days. The Congressional Visits program supports graduate student visits to Washington D.C. to raise visibility for science, engineering, and technology. It was noted that society membership is increasing, especially student participation. In the past year, significant changes have been made to the C01/C07/C08 publications. The shift to digital publishing is particularly significant with accompanying changes in publication charges in the society publications. In the short term, revenues may be reduced but fees should increase in the long-term.

Chair-elect, Jodi Scheffler provided the program chair report for the C01 Division. It was noted that the C01 and joint C01/C07 symposia were well attended in 2012. The members attending the meeting expressed an appreciation that scheduling of C01/C02/C07/C08 sessions rarely overlapped resulting in one of the best programs in recent memory. C07 Chair John Fellers indicated that the program was the result of coordination among division chairs. Marilyn Warburton suggested that we consider planning symposia and presentations for the 2013 Annual Meetings jointly with ASA Section: Biometry and Statistical Computing.

The Graduate Student poster Comptition was held on October 22, 2012. The competition was judged by incoming 2013 Division C01 Chair Jodi Scheffler, Chair-Elect Mitch Tuinstra, Board Representative Mohamed Mergoum and members Vasu Kuraparthy and Ashish Saxena. It was noted that the quality of the posters generally were excellent. The Third Place Poster was awarded to C. Cole Hendrix for his poster "Identifying Resources In Ex-PVP Maize Germplasm for Improving Nitrogen Use Efficiency". The Second Place poster was awarded to Jill Recker, NCSU, "Evaluating Teosinte Introgressions in a B73 Background for Gray Leaf Spot and Southern Leaf Blight Resistance". The First Place poster was awarded to David Price, University of Wisconsin-Madison for his poster, "Predictive Models for Biomass Yield of Switchgrass Based On Morphological Traits".

Transition to C07 business meeting - John Fellers

After conclusion of the C07 business meeting, Charles Brummer provided a report from the CSSA Journals and Books Committee. He reported a change in the fee structure for CSSA publications with the first 7 pages of a manuscript published for free. Publications are now available in the digital library on the redesigned CSSA web site (https://www.crops.org/). The members were encouraged to support and publish plant "omics" papers in *The Plant Genome* journal. C01 and C07 members were encouraged to publish books and other materials such as laboratory manuals, reviews ... etc. through the CSSA digital library.

Kim Garland-Campbell, Editor gave a report on the Journal of Plant Registrations. Manuscript submissions increased in 2012 as did the Impact Factor (0.7) for the JPR. Like the CSSA publications, the JPR is transitioning to a digital journal and the fee structure was changing with the first four pages of a manuscript published for free. Interesting new trends in 2012 included publication of articles for new species such as hops. Efforts were also being made to release and publish historical collections and mapping populations. The membership was reminded that protected lines could be released and published in the JPR as long as seed stocks were submitted to the National Center for Genetic Resources Preservation (NCGRP, Fort Collins, CO).

Michael Grusak provided a Science Policy Report. It was noted that Position Statements were being prepared for certain "hot-button" issues.

Nominations for C01 Incoming Division Chair elect were Kevin Smith, Barley breeding and genetics, University of Minnesota and Peng Chee, Cotton breeding and genetics, University of Georgia. C01 Board Rep nominations were Todd Campbell, Cotton breeding and genetics, USDA-ARS Florence, SC and Georgia Eizenga, Georgia C Eizenga, rice genetics, USDA-ARS Stuttgart, AR.

Pat Byrne suggested that C01/C07/C08 consider planning a joint meeting with the National Association of Plant Breeders (NAPB)/Plant Breeding Coodinating Committee (PBCC) in 2014 to encourage multidisciplinary engagement. It was proposed that a working group be developed to discuss the opportunity. Jodi Scheffler agreed to organize a working group made up of C01, C07, and C08 division chairs.

The membership voted to adjourn the meeting at 12:15PM.