Annual Report (2009) for C011.02 Division C-2 (Crop Physiology and Metabolism), Crop Science Society of America

The Division C-2 business meeting was held between 1 pm and 2 pm on Wednesday, 4 November 2009 in Room 306 at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center in Pittsburgh. Presiding was the C-2 Chair Bjorn Martin (OK). XXX people signed the attendance sheet passed around at the beginning of the business meeting. The following division officers were introduced: Jim Heitholt, Chair-Elect (TX), Diane Rowland, Past Chair (TX), and Maria Balota, Chair-Elect 2010 (NC). Randy Wells, C-2 Board Representative was introduced but not present.

Division C-2 has nominated the following two candidates for C-2 2011 Chair-Elect:

Jeffrey W. White (AZ) Vara P. V. Prasad (KS)

Division C-2 has nominated the following candidate for 2011 CSSA President-Elect:

Bingru Huang (NJ)

At the 2009 annual meeting, Division C-2 had 45 poster presentations and 21 oral papers for a total of 66 presentations. There were three oral sessions entitled "Physiology of Crop Stress Tolerance", "Crop Ecophysiology", and "General Crop Physiology and Metabolism: I", and six poster sessions entitled "Agro-Ecophysiology", Crop Physiology and Global Climate Change", "Crop Responses to Abiotic Stress", "Crop Responses to Biotic Stress", Physiological Indicators of Efficient Use of Water and Nutrients", and General Crop Physiology and Metabolism: II."

The winners of first, second and third place awards in the 2008 and 2009 graduate student competition were recognized by name at the business meeting. One of the 2008 winners were present and received his award certificate. Many thanks go to Diane Rowland for designing the certificate.

Ideas for 2010 symposia were discussed at the business meeting. A symposium on high-throughput phenotyping and genotyping is currently being considered in conjunction with Division C-4.

Division C-2 held joint graduate student competitions with Division C-4 (Seed Physiology, production, and Technology). There was an oral competition including 4 entries, and a poster competition with 10 entries. Awards for first, second, and third place in the amount of \$300, \$200 and \$100 were given. There was no third place winner in the oral competition. The award winners were:

Mr. George T. Place, North Carolina State University, First Place, Oral Presentation, "Improved Weed Competitiveness in Soybean: Screening Tactics and Traits of Interest."

Mr. Eduardo M. Kawakami, University of Arkansas, Second Place, Oral Presentation, "Physiological and Agronomical Effects of Application of Urea with NBPT and DCD on Cotton Grown under Normal and High Temperatures."

Mr. T.M. Seversike, North Carolina State University, First Place, Poster Presentation, "Drought Tolerance in Cultivated and 'Wild' Soybean Species."

Mr. Sergio Tonetto de Freitas, University of California, Second Place, Poster Presentation, "Tomato Plant and Fruit Responses to Growth Regulator Treatment."

Mr. Abdullah M. Aqeel, University of Kentucky, Third Place, Poster Presentation, "Can We Simulate the Impact of Soybean Rust in the South Central Soybean Production Regions of the United States?"

A mixer with chips, salsa, and a cash bar was held at the end of the Wednesday C-2 oral session (Crop Physiology and Metabolism: I) in Room 306 of the Convention Center.

Division C-2 likes to express much gratitude to Ms. Cassie Mescher at CSSA's Headquarters for invaluable help with session scheduling and logistics, and to Ms. Stacie Phelps for arranging the C-2 mixer together with Dr. Diane Rowland and see to that it miraculously appeared in Room 306 at the Convention Center following the Wednesday oral session.